Stairway to (What Has the Potential to Be) Heaven.

In the spirit of sharing empty apartment pictures, I decided that I also ought to share a few pictures of our stairway (and what we had to deal with when we moved in and what we deal with every day en route – get it? – to making our apartment home).  But then I realized that not only did I not want to post 742 pictures (only an estimate exaggeration), I didn’t want to put you through that pain.

So I did the sensible thing.

I took a video of it.

At night.

On a rainy night.

It’s kind of really terrible.

It’s sideways and I don’t know how to change it (I promise I’ll get better).  Oh.  And I seem to sigh a lot.  I don’t know why.

But, I figure, if anything, it might just make the harrowing experience that was our stairwell on moving day (and is – unsurprisingly – still our stairwell today) that much more harrowing, and I might eke out just a touch more sympathy from you all when sharing it taped horizontally on a rainy night in September.  (P.S.  I don’t like the way I sound on the recording – or any recording, for that matter – so if you don’t like it either, let’s just pretend we’re both hard of hearing and that I actually sound like James Earl Jones or someone of equal voice awesomeness who also sighs a lot.)

Amazingly enough, the only piece of furniture we lost to the stairwell was Clarice’s box spring.  Other than that we had, if anything, overcompensated for the tightness of the staircase (remember my panic attack?) and did all of the necessary downsizing before the transfer of goods.  Of course, there were also a few tricks we have up our sleeve for making things that we just had to have fit up the stairway.

Any horrible stories out there for moving folks?  All things considered, I know our stairs really aren’t the worst of them by any means.  Have you lost any of your favorite pieces due to space constraint?  Needless to say, Clarice wasn’t particularly attached to her box spring, so we made out like bandits.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Stairway to (What Has the Potential to Be) Heaven.

  1. Pingback: Couch Potato | Uncramp Your Style

  2. Pingback: My Royal Highness (Part I) | Uncramp Your Style

  3. Pingback: Closet Space. | Uncramp Your Style

Leave a Reply

