Couch Potato

I am by no means a couch potato.  Yes, I like my time in bed.  No, I don’t like to sit on the couch and zone out in front of the TV.  I’m calling this couch potato because our couch looks a little less light bright beige (as it did online) and little more like a light bright Idaho potato.  But I’m Irish.  So that works just fine.

If you recall my couch surfing post, then you’ll recall that the biggest requirement for any couch we picked wasn’t that it fit in the room or had enough seating.  It was that it would fit up the stairs.  I just assumed that because the couch came in boxes it would fit.  So when the woman at site-to-store (Hello, Free Shipping) told me they had to “bring it around” because it’s “too big to fit through the door,” I had  minor heart flip.  Fine.  Not minor.  This box was so big that I actually had them open it there, so I could assess the largest piece.  If it was too big (we have moved so much stuff in that I actually have an idea of what our stairway can accommodate) I planned to return it on the spot.  But – thankfully – the biggest piece was not any bigger than Clarice’s bookshelf, so I helped Kevin lift up the huge behemoth box put it in his truck and we headed to Beantown.

And then that sweet boy even put it together for us.  In our defense we did help him carry the (lighter) pieces upstairs.

Also in our defense, we were busy prepping dinner – we did a double dinner date in the park across the street – delicious.

The couch came in pieces and if you look closely, you can see that there is a strip of velcro around the edge of the seat frame.  This is to keep the cushions in place (which I love), and it is also what allows the chaise to switch sides.

The end of that chaise isn’t actually attached.  It is an ottoman that the chaise cushion extends out to cover and attach to with velcro, so we can easily move it to the opposite side of the couch depending on how we set up the room.  I think it’s pretty novel, personally.  And it blows a futon out of the water (sorry to all of you college students out there – I mean no offense).

Comfort-wise , the back cushions are amazing.  The bottom cushions are…firm.  We need to be sure to switch them so as they break in and pack down a little we can make sure we don’t end up with imprints of anyone’s tookus.  I love it, though.  I love that it fit.  I love that it’s a good size for the space.  I love that it was only 400 dollars.  I love that I can probably sell it on Craigslist next year for half that price.  I love that it’s a neutral color.

(You can see where the ottoman doesn’t attach to the sofa in the picture above.  We made sure to add felt pads to the legs of the sofa and ottoman, so we can still move it easily if we need to.)

The only thing I don’t like about this couch is that it looks terrible with the walls.  You can’t really tell in the pictures above, but below you can see that there is a surprising amount of yellow in the walls and the Idaho-dian potato roots of the color of our couch are embracing it.

What did we do?  We went out and bought some paint, of course.  After all, the fact that the landlord was willing to pay for paint supplies was one of the deal closers on choosing this apartment!

And because of the painting (and a number of other projects), I didn’t post yesterday and I slept through my alarm this morning.  Oops.  Any stories of making a room work for a piece of furniture out there?  Or any commiseration on the sheer exhaustion creeping around in my body and taking over behind my eyelids?  I’m getting sleepy…veeeerrrry sleepy…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Couch Potato

  1. Pingback: Unfinished Project # 312 | Uncramp Your Style

  2. Pingback: On the Road Again | Uncramp Your Style

Leave a Reply

