Peach Bread.

So yes.  I did say that this would also be a recipe blog (reference the “Bonjourno” section to the right).  No.  So far I haven’t included a single one.  To be perfectly honest, I’ve been too busy to bake.  Until this weekend.  When my ripened on-the-verge-of-rotting peaches were screaming at me to use them.

What they were really screaming was, “Catie!  You have guests coming!  The 6 of us are taking up half of an entire shelf in the fridge since you considered baking with us and your dad told you to put us in here to keep us from ripening too much more and then you left us in here to continue to shrivel and die and we will have been a complete waste of money if you don’t use us now-ish!”

They’re chatty.  Well.  They were.

Here’s to you, Google.  I typed in “peach muffins” and came up with this recipe on allrecipes.com.  That’s right, folks.  I don’t pretend for one second to “make my own.”  I pretty much try others’ first.  But you’re welcome.  Because at that point I’m really just using my awesome Googling (which is nowhere near my friend’s husband Scott’s ability – it’s his self-proclaimed “best personal skill”) to save you the trouble of Googling and hoping for the best.  I mean.  I’m basically just here to help.

Behold.  My peach bread (yes, I searched muffins, but loaves of bread are so much easier and the recipe included a simple how-to-make-it-bread-bit, so I went for it):

This picture is totally misleading because it practically highlights Old Blue back there when, in fact, I didn’t use my KitchenAid mixer for this at all.

Let’s try again.

I mean.  It’s up there with banana bread (and that’s saying a lot).  Insanely easy.  Practically brainless.  And made with all ingredients you are bound to have in your cabinets on any given Sunday.  (Fine.  I made mine on Saturday, but until someone coins the phrase “any given Saturday,” I’m sticking with Sunday.)  The best part of this bread – besides its perfect lightness and moistness (sorry – there’s no other word) and simplicity and big ol’ chunks o’ peaches – is the cinnamon.  I forget how fabulous that spice is.  I want it in everything.  From now on.

Except chicken.

So go out there and grab the peaches that are on sale or use up the ones that are still sitting in your fridge.  And in case you didn’t click the link above, I’ll make it extra easy for you and add the recipe here.

Bon appetit!

Peach Muffins (or Bread)

To make bread just increase the baking time to 1 hour at 350 degrees F and use 2 loaf pans.

Ingredients

  • 3 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 tablespoon ground cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 1/4 cups vegetable oil
  • 3 eggs, lightly beaten
  • 2 cups white sugar
  • 2 cups peeled, pitted, and chopped peaches

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees F (200 degrees C). Lightly grease 16 muffin cups.
  2. In a large bowl, mix the flour, cinnamon, baking soda, and salt. In a separate bowl, mix the oil, eggs, and sugar. Stir the oil mixture into the flour mixture just until moist. Fold in the peaches. Spoon into the prepared muffin cups.
  3. Bake 25 minutes in the preheated oven, until a toothpick inserted in the center of a muffin comes out clean. Cool 10 minutes before turning out onto wire racks to cool completely.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Peach Bread.

  1. Clarice says:

    Our flourescent lights really bring out the color in all your pictures! Look, another post for you. You’re welcome.

  2. Pingback: Pumpkin Bread | Uncramp Your Style

Leave a Reply

