Pumpkin Bread

‘Tis the season to start bringing out the pumpkin pie spice!  (I actually don’t have any pumpkin pie spice, but judging by the labels, pumpkin pie spice is simply allspice with nutmeg and cinnamon and all three of those reside in my cabinet, so I just substitute as needed.  If you read about my peach bread – YUM – then you read about my idea that you really can’t have too much cinnamon.  There’s a lot of eyeballing in my kitchen.)

But enough of my chatter.  On to the main event.  I found this recipe on Skinny Taste – an awesome blog that is full of traditional recipes with twists to make them 1) healthier and 2) Weight Watchers-friendly.  The best part?  None of the original deliciousness is lost in the translation.

This recipe calls for ingredients that are in your cupboard on an every day basis – with the exception of pumpkin, of course.  For my pumpkin puree I cheated and opted for the canned goods:

At least it was organic?  (Confession:  It was the only pumpkin puree at Trader Joe’s.  I didn’t go out of my way to opt for it.)

I mixed up the flour, nutmeg, cinnamon, allspice, baking soda and salt in one bowl using a whisk.

And brought in Old Blue to take care of the pumpkin puree, sugar, egg whites, oil and vanilla.The recipe calls for mixing until it’s thick.  I would say I mixed it for less than a minute on medium speed.

Then I added in the dry mix and gave it a few spins – being careful not to over-mix – before adding it to the Pam’d-and-ready loaf pan.  Once it was in there, I couldn’t resist sprinkling a little brown sugar on top.

Then I popped it in the oven for 60 minutes (I used more pumpkin puree than the recipe called for, so it took a little longer to cook) and forgot about it.  Well.  Until the timer went off.

Normally this is where one would insert the “finished product” picture, but I completely forgot to take one because I was too busy wanting to eat it.  All I can say is this: it looked great and tastes better.  It’s only been 24 hours since it was pulled out of the oven and half of it is already gone.

If you’d like to give it a try yourself, here’s the recipe, courtesy of Gina at Skinny Taste!  (Note: This is the “final product” picture of Gina’s version; I didn’t use the pepitas, but let me know if you do!)

Low Fat Pumpkin Bread With Pepitas
Skinnytaste.com
Servings: 16 slices • Serving Size: 1/2 inch thick slice • Old Points: 2 pts • Points+: 3 pts
Calories: 103 • Fat: 2.2 g • Protein: 2.1 g • Carb: 18.7 g • Fiber: 0.7 g • Sugar: 10.2 g
Sodium: 280.5

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 cups pumpkin puree (homemade or canned)
  • 1 1/4 cups unbleached all purpose flour
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 1 tbsp baking soda
  • 2 tsp pumpkin pie spice
  • 1/2 tsp nutmeg
  • 1/4 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 2 tbsp vegetable oil
  • 2 large egg whites
  • 1 1/2  tsp vanilla extract
  • baking spray
  • 2 tbsp pepitas

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350°. Spray a 9 x 5 inch loaf pan with baking spray.

In a medium bowl, combine flour, sugar, baking soda, pumpkin spice, nutmeg, cinnamon, and salt with a wire whisk. Set aside.

In a large bowl mix oil, egg whites, pumpkin puree and vanilla; beat at medium speed until thick. Scrape down sides of the bowl.

Add flour mixture, then blend at low speed until combined. Do not over mix.

Pour batter into loaf pan, top with pepitas and bake on the center rack for 50-55 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.

Let the pan cool at least 20 minutes, bread should be room temperature before slicing.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

