Lean Back…

Youngin’ woo woo!  If I had any propensity toward correctness in my own personal interpretation of what I think is being said in any rap (or pop – besides TSwift) songs, I might try and continue that song’s lyrics (“lean back youngin’ woo woo” for those of you who didn’t catch the drift from post title to body).  But for all I know I could already have the words wrong.

Let me tell you – there have been a fair share of revelations regarding lyrics in my time.  The most recent?  Alanis Morisette.  I always the words in “You Oughta Know” were “the cross-eyed bear that you gave to me.”  No.  Turns out it’s “the cross I bear that you gave to me.”  I’m telling you.  Alanis was my second CD ever (the first being Coolio’s single “Gangsta’s Paradise” obviously), and it took me 15 years to figure that out.  I hope I am opening the eyes of at least one other person out there.

But that’s not the point of this post.  The point is this:

Clarice and I knew we wanted a bookshelf in the living room.  There is a little nook just as you enter that is 24″ wide and 21″ deep.

The nook is immediately on your right, so we knew we didn’t want a solid bookcase that would make entering the room feel like you were walking down a short hallway to get into it.

We decided a leaning (or ladder) bookshelf was in the cards.  We searched Craigslist first, of course, but they were entirely overpriced.  Clarice decided that she would bite the bullet and buy one that we knew we liked, that came in boxes (to fit up the stairs), and that was the right color (dark wood).

We love it.

It works perfectly as a bookshelf, fabulous room decor and also – on the bottom shelf – cookbook holder.  I was so excited to be able to try and make up for some of the lack of kitchen storage with a simple segue into another room.  (Can you segue into a room?  Mom?  This is where you come in… – She’s brilliant.)  (On another note – how many people knew that is the correct way to spell what sounds like “segway”?)

And if you notice – which we didn’t notice and were oh-so-thankful-for that it just worked out – we actually needed a leaning (or ladder) bookshelf.  If we’d had a solid one, it would have blocked the light switch.

But the very best part about the bookshelf is that it holds our own and only (at this time) roomie picture.  I’d show you a close up, but then I’d have to explain it and that’s where things get tricky.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Lean Back…

  1. Carolyn says:

    I knew how to spell segue – not.
    On another note, I do love to the three dishes inside each other, white, light blue, and navy – so classy.

Leave a Reply

