Chicken Parm Bake

One of my Pinterest Challenge projects I decided to tackle was this chicken parm bake.  If you read the Pinterest project reveal post yesterday, then you already know how infatuated I am with this recipe.  If you didn’t read it but are within 10 miles of Beantown, then you probably already know how infatuated I am because I can’t stop talking about it.  And I’m not that quiet.

To get you on board with this bake, here’s a final product picture:

I’ll say here as a disclaimer that I am Irish – not an ounce Italian – and while this is delicious and I’m keeping the name “chicken parm bake”, it really tastes a bit different than tradition chicken parm.  But I promise.  It’s in a good way.  Just delectably different.

The ingredients:

  • Olive oil
  • Garlic
  • Red pepper flakes (I’m not a spicy person, so I put in just a little cayenne)
  • Marinara sauce
  • Parmesan cheese
  • Mozzarella cheese
  • Chicken breasts
  • Croutons
  • Black pepper (if you’re into that)

Start by chopping up the garlic and tossing in (about) 2 tablespoons of olive oil in the bottom of a 9×13 inch pan.  Toss the garlic in there too.

Then just lay down the chicken breasts across the bottom of the pan.  (I probably could have used more, but I wanted to just stick to 2 packs.)

Then you pour on about 2/3 of the jar of marinara sauce, toss some cheese on there, dump the entire bag of croutons on top of that and finish off with a little more cheese.  (Or a lot more if you’re me.)  (And some on the side.)  (Maybe stuff the chicken with cheese – there’s an idea.)  (Thank God I’m not lactose intolerant.)

Pop that baby in the oven for 35 minutes at 350 degrees and OILA!  (For more on the “oila” thing head on over here.)

The end result is incredible.  It’s mindless.  And I’m sure if you’re a cook, you could make it a little more mindful and even better still.  Yes, some croutons soak up the sauce, but you also have crunchy croutons and some toasted croutons.  And it held up like a champ for lunch on Monday and Tuesday.  Another bonus?  If you don’t want to do this size pan, you can totally cut down the portions without measuring anything.  Just eyeball it.  You can’t go wrong.

For the video tutorial (which I was skeptical of at first but wholeheartedly recommend) and official recipe click here.  Happy Parm-Baking!  (Seriously, though.  Just go home and make this.)

This entry was posted in Entertaining, Recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Chicken Parm Bake

  1. Liz says:

    Not going to lie…I’m making this tonight for Brian! I’ll let you know how it turns out 🙂 Thanks for the recipe!!

  2. That looks delicious! I’m going to try this one next time we have company. Visiting from the YHL Pinterest Challenge. Hope you’ll stop by my blog to say hi. 🙂

    • Catie says:

      Oh my gosh! What are the chances that the first thing that caught my eye (anything with Nutella – let’s be serious) was your Pinterest project? Love your blog! I’ll be checking it out regularly. 🙂 Thanks for stopping by mine – enjoy the parm bake! (I have Nutella in my cupboard… Hmmm….)

  3. danielle says:

    No need to wait for company!!! Make this tonight!! It twas delicious… i got to taste first hand… yum yum yummy!!

  4. Pingback: Wine-o. | Uncramp Your Style

  5. Pingback: Cozy Neck Warmer | Uncramp Your Style

Leave a Reply

