Sir Mix-A-Lot

I haven’t been very good about baking lately.  Sir Mix-A-Lot (aka Old Blue aka The Other Love of My Life aka best deal ever) has been hanging out all on his lonesome on the counter lately.  He’s starting to get counter sores (like bed sores but for KitchenAid mixers).

Fine.  I made some chocolate chip cookies last weekend and he did a mighty fine job, but I think he’s ready for something other than the basic “I got this recipe off the back of a bag” treat.  (Sidenote: I don’t care that the recipe is off the side of a bag.  Tollhouse cookies are. the. best.)

This weekend coming up is looking pretty open for me, though, so I think I’m going to try something new.  Well.  Two something news.  The first something new is a new treat recipe.  The second something new is a *drumroll please* reader poll.  I know.  It’s thrilling.  I’m going to list three options, and I ask that you, dear reader, (another sidenote: Anyone ever read The Tale of Desperaux?  Best kids chapter book ever.  Even if you saw the flick, read the book because it blows the movie out of the water.  I think of this now because in The Tale of Desperaux, the narrator addresses the audience as “dear reader.”).

Where was I?  Oh yes.  So.  I’m going to list three options, and I ask that you, dear reader, scope ’em out and then give me your two cents (or pinch of salt – whichever) on which should be my undertaking this upcoming weekend.

Behind door number 1:

Chocolate-Coconut Bars found here on Martha Stewart (via Pinterest).  Supposedly they taste like those Samoa Girl Scout cookies.  Hello.

Bachelor number 2:

Mint chocolate brownies from My Baking Addiction.  (If this is the winner, I might opt out of the green food coloring.  TBD.  I like my bachelors of a more normal color, personally.  Green makes me think of the Grinch.  And speaking of the Grinch, if these tasty treats are actually tasty they might make the cut for a Christmas dessert.)

And last but not least, we have this buxom red-head (think Joan from Mad Men):

Red velvet cupcakes from Joy the Baker.  I have never made red velvet cupcakes and yep – you guessed it – would consider them for a Christmas party treat.  Although.  I’d pry skip out on the sprinkles.  Well.  Maybe just red sugar sprinkles.  (I do love my some rainbow jimmies, but I don’t think it would look right for the holidays.)

All of these recipes are new to me, and I simply can’t decide.  Help me choose what to do with Sir Mix-A-Lot this weekend and vote here!

This entry was posted in Entertaining, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Sir Mix-A-Lot

  1. melissa says:

    ohmygosh! you have a blog! kellyr just shared with me. this is fantastic, love the TP holder idea, i might have to copy it as we have limited space in our teeny nyc bathroom!

    -mel

  2. Pingback: The Great Unveiling | Uncramp Your Style

  3. Pingback: Chocolate-Coconut Bars | Uncramp Your Style

Leave a Reply

