T Minus 26 Days

My math could be wrong, but I’m pretty sure Christmas is only 26 days away.  And I am one of those people who barely lets her turkey digest before jumping on the decorating wagon.  But first, I had to set the mood:

Kevin and I were running errands on Sunday and – although I am really not one to drop $10 on a candle – this one smelled so amazing that I couldn’t pass it up.  So I bought it.

Then Kevin went home to watch the Patriots game and I turned on my “Baby It’s Cold Outside” Pandora station and started pulling out Christmas decorations.  I have two large boxes of decorations and such a small living room that I know we won’t use it all, but I started with the bookshelf.  It used to look like this:

And now it looks like this:

We have limited space in the living room for decorations (we sadly don’t have a mantle), so I wanted to maximize the bookshelf space.  At the same time, though, I didn’t want it to become too overwhelmed with Christmas and become entirely useless other than as a vessel for decorations.

I moved the books from the top shelf to the second shelf and picked three that are red and gold to stack horizontally on the middle shelf.  They are now supporting my reindeer:

The vases are just filled with Christmas Tree Shop ornaments, and I found the twine balls for $1.49 apiece at Pier 1 a few weeks ago.  I couldn’t resist.  (Although I have since seen several pins on Pinterest that have inspired me to make my own yarn or string balls that will look similar.)

On the top shelf I brought out the apothecary jar – also filled with Christmas Tree Shop ornaments (and hidden in this post), a gold charger, some fake cranberry garland that I pulled out of another apothecary jar (also shown here), and a gold twine star.  Yep.  I bought that beauty the same day at Pier 1.

It might be a little too much gold for my taste, but that will be easy to fix (I also have a red charger and/or red ornaments).  For the time, I’m into gold, silver and red as my Christmas colors, and I still have oodles of ornaments left to peruse.

Not to mention a table to lay out.

And lights to hang.

And a Christmas tree to buy.  (Which, by the way, Clarice and I are getting on Wednesday.  I’ll be sure to let you know how it goes.)

I think I love the anticipation of Christmas more than the actual holiday.  Music.  Mistletoe.  Peppermint bark.  Candy canes.  Hot cocoa.  (Of course it always comes back to food.  Did I tell you I have another cavity?  On top of the one I had filled two weeks ago?  Maybe I’ll lay off the candy canes after all.)

How are you preparing for the holidays?  Are you a decorator?  A caroler?  Or simply hoping that come December 1st our days in Beantown of 63 degrees are over?  Because I’m hoping for that, too.  Please have snow!  And mistletoe!  And presents by the tree!

I just started caroling.  In blog form.  Here’s the Bing Crosby version (complete with a roaring fire…ooooh):

This entry was posted in Apartment, Furnishings, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to T Minus 26 Days

  1. Mom says:

    Please pass the kleenex…
    Just lovely. Creative. Hope-filled. And Bing Crosby! This song is one of my Christmas favorites.
    I love you, Boopie.
    Mxo

  2. Pingback: Throw Pillows | Uncramp Your Style

Leave a Reply

