Holiday Canvases (Part I)

So I have a couple of ideas up my sleeve.  The came from Pinterest’s sleeve and into mine, and I am determined to make them work.  But it ain’t workin’ so great right now.  Hence the “Part I” included in the post title.  But first – take a look at the pins I’m trying to work toward:

This is simply Elmer’s glue applied to canvas and then the whole thing was painted white.

Here we have doilies applied to canvas in a snowflake pattern and painted white.  My goal is to mate the Elmer’s glue outline idea with the snowflake idea.  The offspring of this mating would be Elmer’s glue snowflakes all painted white.

And this is what I’m using as inspiration for an “eat drink and be merry” canvas.  Except I want to save a buck and not buy adhesive letters and I want to paint the canvas red instead of black.  Are you seeing what I’m seeing?

Here’s what I have so far:

I know.  It isn’t exactly what I set out to do.  My snowflake outlines are terrible, and I don’t know how I feel about the “let it snow” phrase at the bottom.  It was more of a “oh my goodness my snowflakes are so terrible that I have to think of another way to fill the rest of the canvas that doesn’t involve pretending I can draw straight lines” reaction.  Fortunately, it’s pencil and Elmer has yet to meet my canvas, so I have time to get my act together and really think about what I want to do.

As for my “eat drink and be merry” sign, I started with this:

And here I am now:

It looks like a ransom letter.  And no one will pay for that sign.  I started to freehand the letters, but I was about as successful as I was with drawing straight lines for my snowflakes.  I’m at one might call a “standstill.”

But I’m hoping to get my act together and finish my Christmas canvases tonight.  Perhaps I’ll have something to show for myself by Friday.

Any bright ideas?  Or any ideas that didn’t work out for you?  Or any tips on how to outline anything other than bubble letters?  Or draw straight lines?  Seriously.  I need all the help I can get.

See the pin links here, here and here.

This entry was posted in Apartment, Projects. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Holiday Canvases (Part I)

  1. Mom says:

    Have you considered alphabet stencils? Or design stencils?

    Love ya. Mxo

  2. Pingback: Blow Your Skirt Up | Uncramp Your Style

  3. Pingback: Tape It Up | Uncramp Your Style

Leave a Reply

