Rice Kris-mas Treats

Lo and behold, fair men and maidens (I’m reading Game of Thrones and it’s all about kings and queens and sci-fi and even some dragons and lords and ladies and… you get it.  Not usually my type of reading [usually it’s chick lit, although Atlas Shrugged still sits on my night table], but I’m just telling you so you know where my opener is coming from).

Wow.  Longest most useless sentence of my life.  (Sadly, that’s probably a lie.)

Back to the (self-named) Rice Kris-mas Treats, though.  Clarice and I work together (as I said way back when it’s actually how we met), and today the company is doing a book/bake sale to benefit the MSPCA.  It’s an annual little shindig and used to take place the day after the holiday party.  This year they moved it up a week (I’m guessing because no one has an appetite the day after the holiday party…ifyaknowwhatI’msayin’).  Clarice and I opted to make some rice krispie treats.  But seasonal ones.

“Official” Ingredients:

  • 5 cups rice krispies (or crisp rice if you’re shopping at Trader Joe’s)
  • 10 oz bag of marshmallows
  • 1/3 bag of white chocolate chips (or however much you want)
  • 1 bag of starlight mints
  • 3 tablespoons of butter

Enter: Rice Kris-mas Treats.  They’re really just dolled up old fashioned rice krispie treats that have starlight mints and white chocolate in them. But they sure are pretty.  Not to mention scrum-diddly-umptious.

I will openly advise against two ingredients pictured above: 1) CVS marshmallows are terrible.  Clarice actually had to pick up the classic Kraft ones on the way home because the CVS ones wouldn’t melt.  2) Buy pre-crushed peppermints to avoid this (unless you’re very angry or want to wake up your landlord):

Start by melting down the butter in a large pot.  Be sure to do this over very low heat – you don’t want the butter to burn.  Add in the marshmallows and let those melt.  It’s helpful to stir them once in a while, but you don’t need to stir them constantly – take a break and grab a drink.  Or some sweets.  Or whatever you want.  You’ve got a few minutes here.

Dump in the white chocolate chips and stir them until melted.

Add the crushed mints and rice krispies.

Stir until your arm hurts.  Then stir some more.

Transfer to a Pam’d baking dish.  (The Pam-ing is key for easy removal.)  In order to smooth out the top, Pam the back of a spoon and push down the rice krispies.  The Pam on the spoon means no sticking – only smooshing.  Genius, Clarice.

Pop them in the fridge for a few minutes (I used this time to clean up) and you’re good to go.  Easy peasy.

Eat your heart out, MSPCA.  Happy Friday, everyone.  Treat yo’self!

P.S.  I had a revelation while writing this post with Christmas music in the background.  Because I was focusing on these words and not those words, I realized that the “giddy up giddy up giddy up let’s go” part of Sleigh Ride sounds like the Fox NFL theme song!  Or should I say, the Fox NFL theme song sounds like Sleigh Ride.  (P.P.S.  While researching this revelation, I learned that Sleigh Ride was originally recorded by the Boston Pops.  What’s up Beantown.)  Anyway, my research revealed that I am correct about the similarities.  Check it out here on thatsongsoundslike.com.  Which might be one of my new favorite websites.  Can you hear it?  You can really here it in the Bing Crosby version used on That Song Sounds Like because it’s slower, but I put an instrumental version in here for ya’ anyway.  No prob.  You’re welcome.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Rice Kris-mas Treats

  1. Kathryn says:

    You are blowing my mind with the NFL/Giddy-Up epiphany (i was going to say revelation but its getting close to christmas time).

Leave a Reply

