Buffalo Chicken Dip

I heard through the grapevine that the Superbowl is coming up in a few weeks.  And while I don’t follow football closely, I do happen to know that the Superbowl = YUM.  So with that in mind, I’d like to share with you a loved-by-all-who-have-let-it-cross-their-lips buffalo chicken dip.

This recipe is one I borrowed from my friend Betsy.  The first time I met it was at a girls’ night last summer.  Five girls.  One 9×13 pan of buffalo chicken dip.  Zero leftovers.  And then Kevin met it at our Christmas party.  And… the rest is history.  He’s in love.  So I told him that I’d make him a batch for the Superbowl weekend with his buddies.  Warning: It’s a treat.  Nothing healthy about it.

Ingredients:

  • 2 chicken breasts
  • 1 1/4 cups of Ranch dressing
  • 10 oz Frank’s Red Hot Sauce
  • 16 oz of cream cheese (softened)
  • 2 1/2 cups of grated cheddar cheese
  • 1 cup chopped celery
  • 1 tbsp butter

Start by boiling the two chicken breasts until they’re fully cooked.  While they are boiling, chop up the celery (hint: about 4 stalks of celery should do the trick).

I like to dice it up as much as possible (and by “as possible” I mean “as much as I can before I get bored of chopping”) before sautéing it with a tablespoon of butter.

Then, while the celery is sautéing and the chicken is boiling, dump the rest of the ingredients into a large mixing bowl.

Shred the cooked chicken – I prefer the two fork method:

And then add the chicken and celery to the rest of the ingredients.

And stir.

Pour the dip into a 13×9 inch pan and add the final 1/2 cup of shredded cheddar cheese to the top.  Never.  Enough.  Cheese.

Here is where you put it in the oven for 30 minutes at 350 degrees before serving with tortilla chips.  But here is where I went ahead and stuck it in the freezer.  This way Kevin can have it already made and just defrost it and bake it in time for his Superbowl extravaganza.

What’s on your football-snack list?  I am dying to try a crock pot lasagna.  Mmmm…

This entry was posted in Entertaining, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Buffalo Chicken Dip

  1. Carolyn says:

    Will you make one for me and ship it to Colorado? Thanks.

  2. Pingback: Easy Chili | Uncramp Your Style

Leave a Reply

