On the Road Again

We’ve been busy.  Busy deciding we are going to move to Charlestown and busy combing Craigslist.  But now we’re done.  And have four weeks to get moving.

Yes, ladies and gentlemen, between Friday afternoon and Monday night, we found a place in Charlestown and found new tenants for our current Coolidge Corner pad.  I’m stoked.

Our move date is May 1, so instead of keeping on my list of unfinished projects, I’ll be packing up.  I thought I had all the time in the world, but then I remembered that I signed up to dogsit (in Charlestown) for the last two weeks of April and – how is it so? – we’re already halfway through the first week of April.  Two weeks to weed out the stuff I don’t want/need/can store and two weeks to disassemble my awesome bed and hope that the new tenants want to buy our couch and my wardrobe.  (Anything to not have to disassemble.)

Why are we moving again, you ask?  Why.  That’s a very a good question.  We have a few reasons, including proximity to significant others, lack of grill space and feeling a little like we’re sitting on top of each other in our current place.  But let bygones be bygones, because here’s the list of pros for our new place:

  • lower rent
  • outdoor space (creepy “patio” area that we plan to spruce up)
  • bedrooms on opposite sides of the apartment
  • larger living room
  • eat in kitchen (that they are overhauling with new countertops and appliances before we move in)
  • laundry in the basement
  • large enough to host guests!

We can’t wait.  Seriously.  We are going to sign the lease tonight and we were able to rent our current place to the fourth couple who looked at it.  I have to say, though, that I will miss our landlord.  Very very much.

Keep you posted as I – naturally – buy too much stuff in advance for our new abode and think about layout options.  Woo to the hoodly hoo, my friends.  You’re all invited for mimosas on our sketchy “patio”.  (Yes.  I already bought a bunch of champagne flutes.)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to On the Road Again

  1. Liz says:

    Can’t believe your already moving!! Very exciting 🙂

    • Catie says:

      I know! A bit crazy, but I can’t help it. All I can think about is summertime – grilling and eating outside. Hope you’re doing well and the wedding planning is moving right along! xoxo

  2. Carolyn says:

    So so excited for you! I will be in town Mother’s Day… any chance you’ll be in the city on Saturday?

Leave a Reply

