Because Someone Still Cares.

And, Mom, it’s probably you.

I knew it had gotten bad.  Worse.  Worst.  When my mom said, “It’s Alive isn’t alive anymore, you lackadaisical faux blogger.”  Fine.  That’s an exaggeration.  She didn’t say that (thank goodness), but I can read between the lines.  But I also know that she mustn’t be the only still hopefully reader/peruser/procrastinater out there because I’ve also had at least three other people tell me they’re sick of my current post.  Weird, right?  I mean.  I thought those pictures would last a lifetime.  And they will.  Somewhere in cyber space.

But here I am with nothing to report on my apartment (because I still have ZERO pictures of it) and without having told you about Paris (because I’m still mourning the loss of my steamy relationship with Speculoos and I have only lost 3 of the 5 pounds that I took home with me – not the British version).  So what I’m going to do is just tell you more random stuff.  Which, most of the time, is what I tell you anyway and what I love to share.

Let’s work with Instagram.  Again.

I went to my college reunion.  It was bizarre.  I always say, “I don’t know anyone from college” and yet when I got there I was floored/horrified/impressed by how much of a lie that statement is.

Believe it or not, I know everyone in that picture.  My two best friends are front and center (Coach in the white and Cate with the bangs), Julia is pulling the face and the pop up video gent in the back is Coach’s husband Mike.  To sum up the weekend – it was great to see everyone.  And there was some drinking involved.  And “Call Me Maybe” played every sixth song.  And I’m still not sick of it.

I hosted my first brunch with some girls from work and couple of the significant others… Molly made the most beautiful fruit salad ever and I conquered a quiche.

And it happened to be Bunker Hill Day.  Which seems to be the biggest day of the year in Charlestown.  Besides the fact that everyone says hi and good morning in Charlestown, the townies might be my favorite part.  And they were out in full force.

Kevin and I have spent a little time up north, and one of the weekends included a hike up Red Hill.  We woke up at 4:45 to go.  And I was panicked that I would be the slow one holding up the crowd and everyone would be mad at me for not wanting to race and for instead wanting to look at everything and mosey along.  But.  I had nothing to fear.  And it was well worth the trek.  And the early rising.  You can see out over Lake Winnipesaukee from the top of a fire tower when you get there.  It made me want to be a hiker.  Or at least take more moderate walks uphill.

This summer is the summer of love here in Beantown.  Five weddings in 7 weeks.  Which also means showers.  I went to one last weekend at the Mayflower Society House.  The whole thing basically fell off a Pinterest page in the best way possible.  Of course, I was so busy eating swooning over  the homemade-sugar-cookies-shaped-like-teapots-and-cups-that-doubled-as-place-cards that I only took one picture.  Right when I got there.  Because I thought it was funny.  And before I was sidetracked by edible niceties.

Needless to say, this detail was not Pinterest-approved.

But we are in full swing here for summer.  We kicked it off with a weekend on the Cape with my folks.  And – duh – lobster. 

(I say “duh” like “obviously lobster is a must for summer”.  Which it is.  But.  I don’t eat it.  Those little Sebastians were my ‘rents.)

Amid all of the craziness that is our summer so far and will continue to be, though, Kevin and I are trying to do our best to get some downtime in.  We lucked out last Sunday.

Sidenote: This is my new favorite picture.  So much so that it’s not only the wallpaper on the background of my phone but also the lock screen wallpaper.  Double duty.

Now here’s one you all can save and use as your background.  Because I have no shame.  And because I was told, “That’s a horrible picture of you” by my friend Betsy.  So, Betsy, hats off to you (it’s actually her hat).  This one’s all yours.  You’re welcome.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Because Someone Still Cares.

  1. Betsy says:

    I would just like to say I am hurt that my contribution to the brunch was not noted. I’m pretty sure everyone loved MY bacon more than YOUR quiche.

  2. Megan says:

    I’m still reading your neglected blog!

    ps- Sorry for MY negligence to your emails- YES we need to do a Newburyport night/weekend whenever you want! Just say when dahlin’- and thanks for the shout-out on the shower :o)

    xoxo

Leave a Reply

