Caprese Bruschetta

I got together with my friend Katie the other night for dinner.  It was a spontaneous visit on a hot summer night, so I said I would swing by the store on my way to her house and grab a couple of things for dinner.  I wanted something scrumptious, cold, quick and cheap.

I know.  I’m so demanding.

I walked into the supermarket and dropped $14.27 on the ingredients to make what I’m calling caprese bruschetta.  Heck.  Maybe everyone calls it that.

And it would have been even less expensive if I had gone home first, because I have basil growing at my apartment.  Yum.  Yum.  Yum.

In my “eye on the prize” mode, I didn’t take pictures of the during.  Well that and Katie is dog sitting and you need to keep an extra close eye on the two pups to make sure they don’t grab whatever you’re making.

Beautiful.  Menace.

Long story short – here’s what we wound up with:

To crisp up the bread a little, I just threw some olive oil in a skillet and put the already cut pieces in it until lightly browned before flipping.  Meanwhile, we chopped up the basil, grape tomatoes and mozzarella.  Because we were doing finger foods, we cut everything nice and small.  The basil, tomatoes and mozzarella were thrown into the same bowl with some olive oil, salt and pepper and then tossed to mix.

Ten minutes later and,voila:

Scrumptious summer fare.  And we only used half of the tomatoes, mozzarella and bread.  Serving size – to each his own.  In my opinion, you can never have too much of any of it.  So here’s the breakdown of what we used, but have fun with it.  Bruschetta any way is always a win.

Ingredients:

  • Basil
  • Grape Tomatoes
  • Mozzarella
  • Ciabatta bread (or whatever tickles your taste buds)
  • Olive oil
  • Salt
  • Pepper

One more glamour shot for the road.  (I may or may not have had the very same thing for dinner the next night.)

This entry was posted in Entertaining, Recipes, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Caprese Bruschetta

  1. Pingback: Independence Day | Uncramp Your Style

Leave a Reply

