Black Bottomed _____berry Cream Pie

Technically this bad boy is a Black Bottomed Raspberry Cream Pie.  According to the original recipe.  But because it was the fourth and because I love the old red white and blue, I went rogue and made it with strawberries and blueberries.  Basically, you can stick whatever fruit you like with chocolate on this pie and it’s going to be delicious (although I will say that I prefer the original raspberry method the most).

As I said in my fourth of July post, I made the cheater’s version this time around because 1) it was too hot to stand over the stove and stir pudding and 2) I was short on time.  I will say openly that instant pudding is not the way to treat this pie.  Not only because it isn’t as decadent, but also – and more importantly – it doesn’t hold its shape.  That said, though, it’s still damned delicious.

It starts with the best part: a cookie crust.  Buy a package of Nabisco’s Famous Chocolate Wafers (found in the cookie aisle – they’re in a yellow box) and toss 3/4 of them into a bowl.  Eat the other quarter unabashedly.  While drinking milk.  Make a cookie milkshake in your mouth.  These are just recommendations based on past successful efforts.  aka It’s just what I prefer to do with the extras.

Back to the first 3/4 of the cookies.  Mash them up (I used a potato masher) until they’re nice and crumbled.  Mo’ crushed is mo’ betta.

And then add a quarter cup of sugar and a half cup of melted butter.

And mix until all of the wafer crumbs are wet.  Then dump them into a greased pie dish and spread them out evenly, pushing them down with a fork (or a potato masher or a spoon) until it resembles a pie crust.

(This picture doesn’t do this cookie crust justice.  It’s amazing enough to eat by itself.)

Pop the crust into the oven at 350 degrees for 10 minutes.  I took this time to make the pudding (instant pudding – boo).  If you make the real (better) pudding, this is still a good time to make it, because you have to let the crust cool before the next step…putting the pudding into the crust.  Which you then cover with plastic wrap (so the top doesn’t get filmy) and refrigerate overnight.

The next day, chop up your fruit(s) of choice (if you use raspberries, no chopping is needed – another bonus).

 

And then push them into the pudding.  Not so far that you can’t see them, but far enough that they’ll stick.  This is your first layer of fruit.

(Side story:  This pie will always remind me of Kevin.  Before we started dating – when I was still acting like I wasn’t into him – I insisted that he try my pie.  Kevin is allergic to most fresh fruit and hates chocolate, so as far as I’m concerned, it was proof of how much he liked me when he ate the entire gigantic slice I cut him.  We went on our first date the next weekend.  I no longer ask him to eat chocolate and he no longer pretends that he will.  Except when my parents bought him a little chocolate fudge cake for his birthday last year…they didn’t know.  He ate his whole slice.)

After you’ve smooshed the berries appropriately, throw on the Cool Whip.  (Yes, Eagle Eyes, I know you saw it in the earlier picture.)  I am not ashamed to embrace the beautiful deliciousness and simplicity that is Cool Whip.  I don’t like making my own whipped cream and it is more of a headache than I care to deal with.  It’s also more expensive and I can never get it right.

And top off that Cool Whip with the extra berries.  That’s it.  Keep it in the fridge until you’re ready to serve it.  And if it doesn’t all get eaten at once (doubtful), then enjoy it the next day.  Still darned delicious.

(This is clearly my favorite picture of it.)

I’ll save you the headache of trying to follow my instructions and just lead you on over to the Bon Appetit recipe that has the details on your own pudding and your own whipped cream if you’re feeling adventurous.  People love this – not only is it beautiful, but it’s also delicious.  Enjoy!

This entry was posted in Entertaining, Recipes, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

